App Store promo codes and offer codes: how they work and their limits
Apple has two kinds of codes. <strong>Promo codes</strong> give someone a free copy of your app: up to 100 per version of each platform, each valid for four weeks and usable once, and people who redeem one cannot rate or review the app. <strong>Offer codes</strong> give free or discounted access to in-app purchases and subscriptions, as one-time-use or custom codes, up to 1 million per app per quarter. Google Play has its own promo codes, up to 500 non-subscription codes per quarter. This guide quotes Apple’s and Google’s help pages as they read on 28 September 2026.
Promo codes and offer codes side by side
From App Store Connect Help (promo codes, offer codes for In-App Purchases, subscription offer codes) and Play Console help on promotions.
| App Store promo codes | App Store offer codes | Google Play promo codes | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it gives | a free copy of the app (iOS, macOS, tvOS) | free or discounted in-app purchases and subscriptions | a paid app, a one-time product, or a subscription free trial of 3 to 90 days |
| How many | up to 100 per version of each platform | up to 1 million per app per quarter; up to 10 active offers per app (in-app purchases) or per subscription | up to 500 non-subscription codes per quarter per app |
| Code types | single use | one-time-use (batches of 500 to 25,000) and custom (up to 25,000 redemptions a batch) | one-time use and custom (custom subscription codes: limit of 2,000 to 99,999) |
| Expiry | four weeks from generation | one-time-use: up to six months; custom: optional, up to six months | promotion start and end dates you set; unused codes lost at quarter end |
| Ratings and reviews | people who redeem cannot rate or review | not stated on the page | not stated on the page |
| Role needed | Account Holder, Admin, App Manager or Marketing | Account Holder, Admin, App Manager or Marketing | not covered here |
How App Store promo codes work
Offer codes for in-app purchases and subscriptions
Promo codes for in-app purchases: what Apple’s pages say
Google Play promo codes
Using codes to get first users and press coverage
Where Censuus fits
Frequently asked questions
How many promo codes can I get on the App Store?
Up to 100 promo codes per version of each platform your app supports. Each code is valid for four weeks from the day it was generated and can be used once.
Can people who use an App Store promo code leave a review?
No. Apple says customers who download an app with a promo code cannot rate or review it, although the app otherwise works as if purchased, including updates.
What is the difference between promo codes and offer codes on the App Store?
Promo codes give a free copy of the app, up to 100 per version per platform, valid four weeks. Offer codes give free or discounted in-app purchases and subscriptions, as one-time-use or custom codes, up to 1 million per app per quarter, with expiry up to six months.
How many promo codes can I create on Google Play?
Up to 500 non-subscription promo codes per quarter for an app, across paid-app and one-time product promotions. Subscription promo codes, which give a 3 to 90 day free trial, have separate limits.
Guides for app developers
- How to market an app: a stage-by-stage plan
- Free app promotion sites, checked for dofollow
- App store optimization checklist: what Apple and Google actually say
- App launch checklist: iOS and Android, step by step
- How to find beta testers for your app
- How to get more app reviews without breaking the store rules
- How to get your app featured on the App Store and Google Play
- App Store and Google Play screenshot sizes: what you must upload
- How to promote an app on Google Play with Play Console’s own tools
- How to promote an iOS app with App Store Connect’s own tools
- App Store keywords: how to fill the 100-character field
- How to market a fitness app: what Apple and Google let you claim
- How to market a kids app: the store rules that shape it
- How to market a finance app: the store rules to know first
- How to market a dating app: the store rules that shape it
- How to market a subscription app: what the stores require of your offer
- How to market a mobile game: the store rules that shape it
- Apple Ads MCP: connect an AI assistant to your campaigns
- How to promote an app on TikTok with creators
- How to promote an app on YouTube with creators
- How to market a VPN app: the store rules to know first
- How to market an AI app: the store rules that shape it
- How to localize your App Store and Google Play listing
- Android vitals and Google Play visibility: the thresholds that hide apps
- App Store and Google Play age ratings: what drives them
- App Store privacy labels and Google Play Data safety: what to declare
- Common App Store rejection reasons and how to avoid them
- How to get the first users for your app
- App preview video specs: App Store sizes, length and rules, and the Google Play video
- App Store custom product pages, and the Google Play version
- App icon size for the App Store and Google Play
- App Store phased release and Google Play staged rollouts
- App Store subtitle and promotional text: limits and how to use them
- Google Play feature graphic: size, placement and rules
- TestFlight public link: set it up, limit it, and fix it when it does not work
- App Store A/B testing: product page optimization and Google Play experiments
- App Store in-app events: limits, badges and media sizes
- App Store Connect analytics: what each metric means
- Google Play store listing reports: clicks, CTR and the 2026 changes
- Google Play target API level requirements for 2026
Put your app in the ranking
Censuus ranks apps by the real visit traffic they draw, no bots. Listing is free; sponsorship raises placement.